Rock Steady Crew 34th Anniversary

So another Rock Steady Crew Anniversary has come and gone. Once this epic weekend is complete, I know Summer is more than halfway done and only a few weeks remain between Summer awesomeness and the crisp cool Fall season. Boo. Anyway, I digress! This blog post is just another way for me to show my love and passion for the Hip Hop culture, but more specifically, my love for Rock Steady Crew. I consider Rock Steady as the Mecca of  crews! Since 1977, RSC has been a driving force in the Hip Hop culture. I am blessed to know amazing people like Crazy Legs, Johnny Cheesecake, Mari, Joe Conzo, Bgirl Renegade, and so many more amazing figures who I consider my friends…my second family.

Rock Steady throws a weekend of events including  crew battles, parties, SPY awards (where someone is nominated for their contribution and oustanding representation in the culture). This year my homie TEKNYC from Skill Methodz Crew received the SPY award.  And of course, don’t forget the free concert with a variety of Hip Hop artists and icons. Awesome.

Saturdays battles were really great. Held in the Red Bull Center in SoHo, the space filled fast ! DJs DV One, Skeme Richards, DJ/BGirl Kaotic Blaze, and DJ Bongo Roc were spinning while solo bboys/bgirls or crews battled one on one. Crazy Legs had secret judges who were selecting crews to battle, and in the end we had some of the younger/youngest RSC members as the secret judges. Definitely a new generation that rep RSC strong! Some of these crew names were kinda interesting! You had Ravaged Soil (which sounds like “RABBIT SOIL” when talking on the mic), Part Time Models, and then some.  But I have to say this, and some others may disagree with this, but this year’s battles during this year’s anniversary are some of the better that I have seen in a while. Why? Because the bboys and bgirls were having FUN with it – something that has been missing on many many occasions during battles or performances.

It was a really fun and positive energy at those battles on Saturday, and that’s what made it Hip Hop. Each bboy/bgirl was really getting down in their own style, showed respect, and didn’t bring any drama….well maybe there were a couple cats who took it too seriously and started showing hate…but almost everyone was just jammin. In the words of Afrika Bambaataa, it was about PEACE LOVE UNITY and HAVING FUN. So while YNOT took over on the mic and crew after crew did their thing, the battle portion was really impressive. I also have to point out that they were handing out free Red Bull and bottles of water all day Saturday…that’s pretty awesome.

Santos Party House was later that night. Crazy Legs was DJing for a while, everyone dancing and showing love, and the best part was the Hustle contest 🙂 Legs brought it back with this one. It was awesome seeing this style of dance and dance-off! That night ended well, everyone had a really nice time, and that’s all that matters.

Then the next day in NJ was the free concert. My day started off soooo sh8tty with neither the A,C,4 or 5 trains running into the city to catch my ride with Rock Steady’s original Johnny Cheesecake. After 2 hours of 3 different trains, I finally made my way to the west side to catch my ride. Let me tell you, that day was HOOOOT. HOT HOT HOT. But that doesn’t stop us! That doesn’t stop HIP HOP! I was grateful to gain access into the backstage area, thanks to Crazy Legs and DJ Eclipse (who I owe at least a dozen awesome homemade choc chip coookies for that one!) The entire day was spent talking and hanging out with my friends and with some new friends. The lowpoint was when I was talking to Rey Robles, dropped my camera, and it busted on the spot. Ugh. Have no fear, I am a true videographer and camera whore….I still had my Droid! I got to enjoy some great acts from the sidelines- Rahzel and JS1 being one of my favs. Not to mention the entire RSC performing for a few minutes, along with Crazy Legs gettin down in a solo.

With artists like Keith Murray, Wise Intelligent, Cold Crush Brothers, Q Unique, Large Professor, and a bunch more- the show was awesome. Jersey showed love and it was another successful RSC concert that everyone loves so much. I have to admit, I was really tired by 9pm, and was ready to just crash. My mind was buzzing with so many colorful images of dancing, music, people and sunshine! Basically this anniversary never fails to feed my soul and quench that thirst for inspiration and movement. I am so grateful that there are people out there like Crazy Legs and everyyyone who make these anniversaries happen. Who maintain Hip Hop as it is meant to be. I get to meet these amazing people from all over the world, and we all unite under the flag of Hip Hop. Amen! We also need to help keep these events going, because these things cost $$ and nobody has that. If I had the means to, I would donate more, but for now I do that by supporting the events and what not. By being an advocate. A fan:)
I need to say Peace to all my Hip Hop family: Crazy Legs, Joe Conzo, Francisco, Eclipse, JS1, Rey, Johnny Cheesecake, Monelle, DV One, Christie Z, Fabel, Evil D and Beatminerz, Mari, Renegade, Shadoe, Artson, D Stroy, Res One, and everyone else who I couldn’t fit in here. Without these people, without things like RSC anniversary, I think my life would be a WHOLE lot different. Until next year 🙂 Peace.

Make sure to check out: www.crazylegsworkshop.com – You can catch the LUNCHBREAKS show every week on there, as well as read up on RSC events, history, etc.

www.toolsofwar.com

www.fatbeats.com

www.youtube.com/glitterfab

One thought on “Rock Steady Crew 34th Anniversary

  1. Great article! Thanks for summing it all up in an articulate, intelligent fashion. The weekend was dope. 🙂

Leave a comment